Sunday, 17 February 2008

APEE Essay Contest Winners

The Association of Private Enterprise Education (APEE) Essay Contest winners for 2007 have been announced.

The winners are:

First Prize (US$2500): Brad Taylor (University of Canterbury, New Zealand), "Prosperity and the Freedom to Cooperate."

Congratulations Brad! Good to see that Canterbury isn't completely devoid of all sensible thought.

Second Prize (US$2000): Emily Rose, (Bethel College), "What Causes Prosperity: The Estonian Example."

Third Prize (US$1500): Gennady Stolyarov II (Hillsdale College), "Enabling Ethical Behavior Through Markets."

Top High-School Entry (US$500): Will Simpson (Homeschooled, Mountain View, Arizona ), "Ethical Ideas and Consequences."

Honorable Mentions (US$250): Ojo Adekunle B. (United States International University, Nairobi, Kenya), Chris Kuiper (Dordt College), Vrinda Maheshwari (National Law School of India University), Abigail Martin (Wheaton College), Josef Mladek (University of Economics, Prague, Czech Republic), Ryan Musser (Houghton College), Joel Runyon (Bethel College), Joseph W. Siler (The George Washington University), Neville Tirimba (Masinde Muliro University of Agriculture and Technology, Kakamega, Kenya), Raluca Mihaela Ursu (Wesleyan College).

(HT: Robert Lawson)


Trinh said...

Did you or Eric teach him?

Paul Walker said...

Eric, a couple of years ago.